Back Home Our repertoire Brahms' Requiem – In Memoriam from Gustaf Vasa church

Brahms' Requiem – In Memoriam from Gustaf Vasa church

Johannes Brahms
Alan Gilbert

In Memoriam


Brahms’ Requiem, or Ein deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem) as the piece was originally titled, was composed in 1861-66 and 1868. Brahms himself wanted to call his mass of death a "human requiem", aimed at man, not God, in accordance with the Lutheran faith of the composer and, as opposed to the Catholic Mass of Death. The composer has compiled texts from the Old and New Testaments and from the apocrypha. From the very start it is filled with confidence and breathes a clear streak of hopefulness: "Blessed those who grieve, they shall be comforted." Death is to be overcome, and at the center is the man who survived and his grief.
The final version of the piece was completed in 1868.

Performed at Gustaf Vasa kyrka, Stockholm.
Photo Daniel Eriksson.

Performance date

The cast (with reservation for changes)
Show More


Royal Swedish Opera Chorus & Royal Swedish Orchestra

We also recommend...

Concerts in the Golden Foyer
Autumn of 2022
Buy tickets Ticket price from 200 SEK